jump to navigation


Hatha Yoga (sometimes translated as “Sun-Moon Union” or “Union By Force”) is the physical practice of yoga. While it can include other elements of yoga philosophy, it is primarily a combination of the 3rd limb, asana, (“seat” or “posture”) and the 4th limb, pranayama (“breath control”). Hatha Yoga was traditionally practiced in order to prepare a person for deep meditation. The texts listed below focus on the physical practice, but also explore the entire philosophy of yoga. (NOTE: This reading list reflects my personal practice, which is is heavily influenced by vinyasa/Ashtanga/Jivamukti and Iyengar. If you are interested in other styles/traditions, please let me know and I will find you a resource.)


No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: